SDG721 front 300dpi low res

Beethoven Symphonies 2 & 8
SDG 721 | 1 CD (8 tracks)

The Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique
Sir John Eliot Gardiner

"Quite brilliant... the whole thing is a delight.” – The Sunday Times

"The articulation of the playing, again at whirlwind speed,is truly impressive." ★★★★★ – BBC Music Magazine

"Thrilling...No wonder the audience bursts into prolonged applause’." – International Record Review

October 2014 marks the 25th anniversary of the founding of the Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique. Twenty years after their acclaimed Beethoven Symphonies recordings for Deutsche Grammophon, Sir John Eliot Gardiner and the orchestra continue to revisit this repertoire - this album follows the release of Symphonies 5 & 7 recorded live at Carnegie Hall. 

The Second and Eighth, two of the “lighter” symphonies, are among Sir John Eliot’s favourites. The Second’s life-affirming energy is rooted in Mozart and 18th c. opera, at times romantically tender and others ferociously determined. Beethoven’s adventurous spirit can be heard in the Eighth, which is buoyant and energetic with a spirit of wit and playfulness.

The album is presented in a digipack and contains a 28 pages booklet with original notes by BBC presenter and music journalist Stephen Johnson, translated in German and French.



Free standard delivery worldwide
(Courier delivery options available)

Download all tracks instantly

CD album £12.99

Download CD booklet (PDF)

Download CD booklet
mp3 (Quality: 320 kbps) £7.00


Unsure whether to choose mp3 or FLAC? Please read our FAQ before downloading.

Please scroll down to listen to sample of each track (samples are mp3 files - 192kbps)


Sample Track Title Duration Downloads
Beethoven Symphony 2 in D Major
01 1. Beethoven Symphony 2 In D Major 1st Mov 11:10 Bundle only
02 2. Beethoven Symphony 2 In D Major 2nd Mov 10:03 Bundle only
03 3. Beethoven Symphony 2 In D Major 3rd Mov 4:09 Bundle only
04 4. Beethoven Symphony 2 In D Major 4th Mov 5:53 Bundle only
Beethoven Symphony 8 in F Major
05 1. Beethoven Symphony 8 In F Major 1st Mov 8:34 Bundle only
06 2. Beethoven Symphony 8 In F Major 2nd Mov 3:49 Bundle only
07 3. Beethoven Symphony 8 In F Major 3rd Mov 5:24 Bundle only
08 4. Beethoven Symphony 8 In F Major 4th Mov 6:55 Bundle only

Total Playing Time: 55:58