Il ritorno d'Ulisse in patria
L'incoronazione di Poppea

There can be little doubt that the novelty of Monteverdi's work surpassed the art of his forbears and brought about the dawn of a new age. The repercussions of it are still with us today, and his music has lost none of its power and expressive force. A student and codifier of human passions, Monteverdi spent a lifetime exploring all conceivable techniques in which these could be captured in music. He therefore invites direct comparison with the greatest artists and scientists of his age - Galileo, Bacon, Shakespeare, Cervantes, Caravaggio, Rubens - each one a striking representative of early 17th century genius. 2017 marks the 450th anniversary of Claudio Monteverdi's birth, known to his more discerning contemporaries as 'oracolo della musica'. From April to October 2017 an international cast of soloists together with members of the Monteverdi Choir and the English Baroque Soloists will perform the surviving trilogy of Monteverdi's great operas in concert performances directed by Sir John Eliot Gardiner. In these performances the orchestra, composed of Monteverdi's exotic and beautifully crafted period instruments, will take centre-stage and thus form a central part in the story-telling process. Their interaction with the singers will lead us into a world of love, loss, anger, hope and desolation.

The operas narrate three individual tales of ancient Greece and Rome, moving from innocence to experience and finally corruption. However, the uniting subtext of all of Monteverdi's surviving musical dramas is the full unchanging gamut of human emotions - bewildering, passionate, uncomfortable and sometimes uncontrollable. It is Monteverdi’s talent for communicating emotion, and using this as the driving force in his operas, that makes them so powerfully appealing to today's audiences.

Watch this space!
We will be updating this page throughout 2017 with more details on our Monteverdi 450 celebrations. Come back soon for more news.

JS Bach Lutheran Mass in F Major BWV 233 – 29 mins

JS Bach Cantata “Süßer Trost” BWV 151 – 19 mins


JS Bach Magnificat BWV 243 in Eb + Christmas Laudes